browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

Unesco werelderfgoed status voor Hiraizumi-tempel in Tohoku en Ogasawara-eilanden in Tokio

Posted by on 8 augustus 2011

Temples In Japan’s Earthquake Hit Region Awarded Unesco World Heritage Status

Resident’s of Japan’s earthquake-hit Tohoku region were given reason to celebrate when UNESCO granted Hiraizumi’s Buddhist temples and related properties Cultural World Heritage Site status on Saturday 25 June. On Friday 24 June, UNESCO had granted the Ogasawara Islands off Tokyo Natural World Heritage site status, meaning Japan now has sixteen locations registered as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

The historic Hiraizumi area in Iwate Prefecture features a cluster of temples and ruins left by the Oshu Fujiwara warrior family that ruled Japan’s Tohoku region from the 11th to the 12th centuries. Hiraizumi’s most famous attraction is Chusonji, a Buddhist temple established in 850 with a stunning Golden Hall.

Hiraizumi is located 40 kilometres inland from the Pacific Coast, which was devastated by the tsunami on 11 March, and almost two hundred kilometres north of the Fukushima nuclear plant. The earthquake’s tremors caused damage on some roads and buildings around Hiraizumi, but the temples themselves escaped damage.

Hiraizumi is Japan’s 12th cultural heritage site and the first in Tohoku, the region of Japan that was so badly affected by the earthquake and tsunami on 11 March. Thankfully the beautiful temples of Hiraizumi escaped undamaged, yet visitors have dropped by as much as 80%. UNESCO awarding Hiraizumi World Heritage status is an encouraging symbol of recovery for the people of Tohoku and it is hoped it will encourage people to start visiting the region again.

The Ogasawara Islands are an archipelago of over 30 subtropical and tropical islands 1,000 kilometres south of Tokyo. They are home to over 100 kinds of indigenous plants and more than 14 kinds of animals. The Ogasawaras are popular for whale watching, scuba diving, swimming with dolphin, surfing, kayaking, snorkelling, bird watching and hiking. The islands are now Japan’s fourth World Natural Heritage site and the first to be listed in six years since the Shiretoko area in eastern Hokkaido in 2005.

Ogasawara islands Cruise
In order to preserve the Ogasawara’s very special ecosystem, there is no airport on the islands; Access is by ship only. Enjoy the pristine natural beauty of the isolated Ogasawara Islands during 4 days aboard the comfortable Nippon Maru cruise ship sailing from Yokohama. Included in the package are 2 nights accommodation in Tokyo at Keio Plaza Hotel, including breakfast; 4 nights on board the Nippon Maru cruise ship, in private 2-berth “Superior State” cabin including all meals on board; Coach transfers between hotel Keio Plaza and embarkation port at Yokohama; and English-speaking assistant services. The cruise departs on 16 September 2011

Visit Japan’s “Northern Soul”
InsideJapan Tours 14-night Northern Soul tour includes a full-day sightseeing at Hiraizumi so you can explore some of the many temples of Chusonji. Highlights include the wonderful gardens of Motsuji and the 900 year old golden temple of Konjikido. Other unique experiences on the tour include stunning temples in Nikko; Naruko Onsen, a remote hot spring resort set in a beautiful valley; quiet reflection and contemplation at temple lodgings on Mt. Haguro; and the laid back city of Sendai. The next departure is on 11 October 2011.

Comments are closed.